click me

Join the debate

If you have address protection check here

Town Plan
Join the debate!

Front page / The open country

The open country

On 1 January, the planning authority and land authority regarding the open country were transferred from the Government of Greenland to Qaasuitsup Municipality. See The Govenment Interest in the open country.

Guidelines and provisions for the open country relate primarily to the division into subareas and the adoption of overall provisions for these subareas. The provisions must ensure against unplanned land use in the open country.

The open country has been subdivided into the following areas:

While many of the subareas and associated provisions have been transferred directly from the national planning directive, a number of areas have been modified and new areas have been included in the town plan, including new K areas. The intention has been to foster new tourism development opportunities in the open country. Other strategic initiatives relate to the development of renewable energy projects and various experimental farming schemes. 

General Provisions of the Town Plan

Last edited 31-5-2018


Kommune Qeqertalik
Niels Egedes Plads 1
Postboks 220
3950 Aasiaat

Telefon: (+299) 70 19 00

GER-nr: 37488895